

# Western Snow Conference



General Chair Noah Molotch noah.molotch@colorado.edu July 22, 2020

#### General Chair-Elect

Teri Smyly tagl@pge.com

#### Secretary/Treasurer/ Documents Manager

Frank Gehrke
P.O. Box 485
Brush Prairie, WA 98606
Phone: (503) 414-3267
westernsnowconference@gmail.

### North Continental (MT WY ID AB Eastern Canada)

Area Chair – Mel Kunkel melkunkel@gmail.com Jordy Hendrikx Abby Lute Lucas Zukiewicz

#### South Continental (CO NM UT Eastern US)

Area Chair – McKenzie Skiles m.skiles@utah.edu Emile Elias Keith Musselman Mark Raleigh Chris Romero

#### South Pacific (AZ CA NV Pacific Islands)

Area Chair – Randall Osterhuber randallosterhuber@att.net
Rick Kattelmann
Kevin Richards
Vince White

#### North Pacific (BC OR WA AK)

Area Chair – Jolyne Lea Jolyne.lea@usda.gov Keith Bellingham Daniel Fisher Bruce Smiley On behalf of the Western Snow Conference (WSC) Executive Committee, and as the Chair of the WSC, I first want to acknowledge that we at the WSC have failed to foster a fully anti-racist, diverse, inclusive and welcoming culture for everyone in the WSC community. Secondly, I also must acknowledge and commit to a better understanding of the effects of ongoing violence against Black people in our community and across the United States.

Noah Molotch General Chair - WSC noah.molotch@colorado.edu

The Western Snow Conference recognizes its participation in a racially unjust system. The Western Snow Conference attendance and Executive Committee has historically been composed largely of white men, and we have passively accepted the lack of diversity among our professional associates. For many years at our annual banquet, the WSC carried on a tradition that was inadvertently demeaning to people of color -- presenting the 'El Farsante Award' to an attendee who made an embarrassing error. The award, established in 1953, had a Spanish name and consisted of an unflattering statue of a Mexican man on skis. In 2019, the Executive Committee voted unanimously to retire the award 'without fanfare', i.e. without acknowledgement of wrongdoing.

We take this moment to start a new chapter in the history of our organization. To begin, we formally apologize for the El Farsante award. We affirm that Black Lives Matter. We stand in solidarity with those protesting police violence against BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color). We commit to dismantling prejudice and discrimination within the Western Snow Conference as well as within our home agencies, companies, and institutions. We commit to fostering racial and gender equality. We commit to helping develop and support an anti-racist scientific community, as indicated by our signing of the Geosciences Call to Action: <a href="https://notimeforsilence.org/">https://notimeforsilence.org/</a>. We will continue to work to understand the connections between racial justice and environmental justice, especially as it pertains to our work with snow.

We recognize that statements are not sufficient, and that action is needed in order to make the aforementioned commitments a reality. We will establish a new standing committee on diversity, equity, and inclusion to establish strategic plans to work toward the commitments we have made. At its next meeting, the WSC will discuss establishing scholarships for BIPOC participants, formalizing outreach to tribes and BIPOC-serving schools, universities, and other community groups, establishing mentoring programs to serve participants from underrepresented groups, reassessing award names and awardee selection, and diversifying the Executive Committee.



## Western Snow Conference



General Chair Noah Molotch noah.molotch@colorado.edu

General Chair-Elect Teri Smyly tagl@pge.com

Secretary/Treasurer/ Documents Manager Frank Gehrke P.O. Box 485

Brush Prairie, WA 98606 Phone: (503) 414-3267 westernsnowconference@gmail.

com

North Continental (MT WY ID AB Eastern Canada)

Area Chair – Mel Kunkel melkunkel@gmail.com Jordy Hendrikx Abby Lute Lucas Zukiewicz

South Continental (CO NM UT Eastern US)

Area Chair – McKenzie Skiles m.skiles@utah.edu Emile Elias Keith Musselman Mark Raleigh Chris Romero

South Pacific (AZ CA NV Pacific Islands)

Area Chair – Randall Osterhuber randallosterhuber@att.net
Rick Kattelmann
Kevin Richards
Vince White

North Pacific (BC OR WA AK)

Area Chair – Jolyne Lea Jolyne.lea@usda.gov Keith Bellingham Daniel Fisher Bruce Smiley We make these commitments with earnestness and humility, recognizing that we are not experts in diversity, equity, and inclusion, and have minimal organizational experience with marginalized communities. We welcome feedback and ongoing conversations regarding how the Western Snow Conference can support marginalized communities and contribute to anti-racism in the geosciences more broadly.

Noah Molotch (General Chair)

My

Mel Kunkel (North Continental Area Chair)

of July

McKenzie Skiles (South Continental Area Chair)

- Ru Olle

Randall Osterhuber (South Pacific Area Chair)

4 olyne Lea

Jolyne Lea (North Pacific Area Chair)